Institutional Overview

About the University of British Columbia

The University of British Columbia (UBC) is a global centre for research and teaching, consistently ranked among the 40 best universities of the world. Surrounded by mountains and ocean in Vancouver, and lakes and vineyards in the Okanagan, UBC embraces bold new ways of thinking that attract exceptional students and faculty. It is a place where innovative ideas are nurtured in a globally connected research community, providing unparalleled opportunities to learn, discover and contribute in one’s own way. UBC is a place of mind.

A publicly supported comprehensive university, UBC offers more than 58,000 students an unrivalled choice of degree programs, learning and research opportunities, international experiences, and recreational and sporting facilities. In addition to its two main campuses, UBC has a downtown presence in Vancouver at UBC Robson Square and at the Great Northern Way campus, located south east of downtown Vancouver. Building on its historical ties and commitment to the Asia Pacific Region, UBC has also maintained an Asia Pacific Regional Office in Hong Kong since 2005.From the Humanities, to Commerce, to Science, the university offers resources for every academic interest and is a national leader in areas as diverse as community service learning, sustainability and research commercialization. UBC’s Faculty of Medicine is one of the largest medical schools in North America and provides innovative educational and research programs in the areas of health and life sciences through an integrated and province-wide model.

As one of the world’s leading universities, UBC creates an exceptional learning environment that fosters global citizenship, advances a civil and sustainable society, and supports outstanding research to serve the people of British Columbia, Canada and the world.


UBC’s two major campuses are governed by a single Board of Governors, a President, and two Senates (one at each campus) whose activities are coordinated by a Council of Senates.